Festival Awards

Congratulations to the Mountainfilm Festival 36 award winners!

2014 Student Award


High-school students in Mountainfilm’s "Making Movies That Matter" program select the film that they think will most inspire their generation.

Honorable Mention:
Mending the Line
Mission Blue

2014 - E-Team
2013 - The Crash Reel

2014 Norman Vaughan Indomitable Spirit Award

Norman Vaughan Indomitable Spirit Award

The great polar explorer Norman Vaughan was a friend to Mountainfilm whose motto was "Dream big and dare to fail." Funded by his widow Carolyn Muegge-Vaughan, Rick Silverman and Lindsey Walker, this award is given to a film that epitomizes Vaughan's indomitable spirit.

2014 – Tashi and the Monk
2013 — Duk County & Life According to Sam
2012 — Tie of Two Films: Chasing Ice and Fambul Tok

2014 Moving Mountains Prize

This $3,000 prize goes to a nonprofit featured in a film at the festival. Judges watch the nominated films and examine the mission of each organization, considering its scope, impact and need. The quality of the film is not part of the decision.

Honorable Mention:

Emptying the Skies

Previous Prize Winners

2014 – Tashi and the Monk
2013 – Duk County
2012 — Peaceful Uprising for Bidder 70
2011 — Wampanoag Language Reclamation Project for We Still Live Here
2010 — Higher Ground for Fish Out of Water
2009 — Tie of Two Nonprofits: Democratic Voice of Burma for Burma VJ and and Dr. Rick Hodes for Making the Crooked Straight
2008 — Free the Slaves for Dreams Die Hard

2014 Festival Director's Award

This award is chosen by Mountainfilm’s festival director.

Winner: Katie Lee

2014 — Katie Lee
2013 — Maidentrip (Documentary)
2012 — Ai Weiwei: Never Sorry
2011 — Undercity
2010 — Sons of Perdition
2009 — Tim DeChristopher
2008 — Red Gold
2007 — Loop

2014 Cinematography Award

This juried award goes to the film with the most outstanding cinematography.

Honorable Mention:

2014 — Once Upon a Forest
2013 — Dirty Wars
2012 — All.I.Can JP Auclair Street Segment
2011 — Into Eternity


2014 Charlie Fowler Award


Charlie Fowler was a Telluride local and world-class climber. We miss him and find some comfort knowing that he’s represented in spirit by this $1,000 juried award that goes to a climbing film.

Honorable Mention:
Desert Ice

2014 — High Tension
2013 — Wideboyz
2012 — Ice Revolution
2011 — Cold
2010 — Alone on the Wall
2009 — Samsara
2008 — King Lines
2007 — E11

2014 Audience Choice Award


The Audience Award is chosen via ballot by attendees at the Closing Picnic & Awards Ceremony.

Honorable Mention:
An Honest Liar
Mending the Line

2014 DamNation
2013 God Loves Uganda
2012 — Right to Play
2011 — Happy
2010 — Tie of Two Films: I Am and Bag It
2009 — Sergio
2008 — Red Gold