Adventurer of the Year: Vote for the People’s Choice Award

Ramon NavarroDavid LamaFelix BaumgartnerMike LibeckiJosh DueckLizzy HawkerJeremy JonesShannon Galpin

For the last eight years, National Geographic has combed the globe to find Adventurers of the Year, each selected for his or her extraordinary achievement in exploration, conservation, humanitarianism or adventure sports.

This year, Nat Geo focused on people who are adventure innovators: a surfer riding giants, a skier landing the first sit-ski backflip, a mountain biker pedaling across cultural boundaries, a BASE jumper falling from space and others. Out of their 10 adventurers this year, three have been guests of Mountainfilm in Telluride (Josh Dueck, Shannon Galpin, and Renan Ozturk), where we hope you had the opportunity to meet them in person.

From now until January 16, 2013, Nat Geo invites you to vote (once a day if you like) for the person who you think best embodies the spirit of adventure. The one with the most votes will earn the new People's Choice Adventurer of the Year.

So check out the candidates in these interviews, photos, and a video. Then vote.

The winner will be announced in February 2013.

The Conversation

We welcome your insights and reactions to our films and content. Please engage with us by leaving a comment. All comments will be moderated so as to avoid spam or unsuitable content being published.