2012 Mountainfilm Commitment Grant Recipients

The five winning 2012 grantees are:

Dave O'Leske: Direct Beckey
Direct Beckey, the first film about Fred Beckey, the prolific and mysterious 89-year-old climber, and a reflection upon how we all choose to live in different ways.

Ian McCluskey: Les Voyageurs Sans Trace
A story that retraces the journey of three inexperienced French kayakers who were the first people to follow John Wesley Powell’s famous 1869 descent down the Green and Colorado Rivers.

Lucy Walker: Untitled Lucy Walker Snowboarding Documentary
A film that follows snowboarding legend Kevin Pearce as he recovers from a traumatic brain injury he sustained during training.

Mark Grieco: Marmato
Marmato explores an ancient gold-mining community in the Columbian Andes whose artisanal methods and livelihood are threatened by a multinational mining company.

Chris Jordan/Stephanie Levy: Midway
Midway is artist Chris Jordan’s examination of the island in the Pacific Ocean where tens of thousands of Laysan Albatrosses are dying from eating garbage that collects in the gyro current known as The Pacific Garbage Patch.

The winners will each be awarded $4,000 and a MacBook Pro!

The Conversation

We welcome your insights and reactions to our films and content. Please engage with us by leaving a comment. All comments will be moderated so as to avoid spam or unsuitable content being published.